Bringing Rickey down a notch

Corky Simpson, former writer for the Tucson Citizen and voting member of BBWAA is making news for his Hall of Fame ballot.  Who he voted for… and more importantly, who he didn’t vote for. 

Matt Williams is on his ballot.  So is Alan Trammell and Don Mattingly. 

…but no Rickey Henderson. 

And that’s got bloggers, baseball pundits and baseball fans in general up in arms. 

You can read Simpson’s full ballot and his reasoning at his current paper, the Green Valley News and Sun (which still gives him BBWAA voting rights). 

His picks:

  • Bert Blyleven
  • Andre Dawson
  • Tommy John
  • Don Mattingly
  • Tim Raines
  • Jim Rice
  • Alan Trammell
  • Matt Williams

I admit, his ballot selection seems a bit inconsistent.  He’s voted for Tim Raines but not Rickey Henderson. He’s voted for Matt Williams but not Mark McGwire (if you’re thinking not McGwire because of PEDs, keep in mind Williams was listed in the Mitchell report). 

I don’t agree at all with Simpson’s ballot but I’m not getting bent out of shape because of it.  On the other hand, if Rickey Henderson got into the Hall of Fame unanimously while players like Hank Aaron and Cal Ripken did not, now THAT would be something to write about. 

Discussion Area - Leave a Comment