NL Gold Glove winners announced

Here are the National League Gold Glove winners:

P Greg Maddux Chicago Cubs
C Mike Matheny San Francisco Giants
1B Derrek Lee Chicago Cubs
2B Luis Castillo Florida Marlins
3B Mike Lowell Florida Marlins
SS Omar Vizquel San Francisco Giants
OF Andruw Jones Atlanta Braves
OF Jim Edmonds St. Louis Cardinals
OF Bobby Abreu Philadelphia Phillies

Florida, Chicago and San Fran make up the whole infield with two each.  Greg Maddux wins his 15th GG, one less than record holders Brooks Robinson and Jim Kaat. 

On the other end, Abreu and Lowell win their first GG.



No tags for this post.

4 Responses to “NL Gold Glove winners announced”

  1. again, a big maddux fan but him going on 40, dont you think there is some other pitcher who’s a better fielder.

    /not that GG pitcher means a whole lot

  2. Of the 18 Gold Glovers, only 4 (Jeter, Varitek, Jones, Edmonds) were on playoff teams. 26.7% of baseball teams made the playoffs, but only 22.2& of GOLD GLOVERS made the playoffs. Interesting. Was it the late Fred Hutchinson who said, “Awards are for losers?”

    Los Angeles and Chicago, the two AL playoff teams that pride themselves on “small ball” (Pitching, defense, moving runners) had ZERO Gold Glove winners.

    I would have taken Joe Crede, Erstad and Orlando Cabrera at their positions.

  3. Yeah, i think leeknay hit the nail on the head when he said that name recognition may have helped Jeter.

    No arguement with Crede…

    As for the NL, I honestly didnt see Lowell in action… is he that good?

  4. Question, Who was the outfielders that Bobby Abreu beat out for the Gold Glove in 2005.

    I think he won by default and since Guererro left for the American league he had no competition

Discussion Area - Leave a Comment