2009 MLB Cy Young Award Winners: Zack Greinke & Tim Lincecum

greinkeZack Greinke was named the 2009 AL Cy Young Award winner.  Greinke was dominant with a 2.16 ERA and a 16-8 record for the lowly Kansas City Royals.  Zack started impressively, winning his first six games, with an ERA of 0.40, only Walter Johnson & Fernando Valenzuela had done that with lower ERAs.  In back to back starts he struckout 15 batters in one contest and then allowed only one hit in his next start.  He was 6-1 with a 1.75 ERA in his last 11 starts.  Imagine how many wins Greinke would have amassed had he been pitching for the explosive New York Yankees.  The Royals only scored 15 runs in Zack’s eight losses, 1.9 per game.  Zack Greinke only allowed 195 hits in 229′ innings, striking out 242, while walking only 51.

MLB announced Tim Lincecum as the winner of the 2009 NL Cy Young Award.  It was the 2nd straight year The Freak had won the award.  Lincecum was the NL strikeout leader two years running, last time a Giant did that was Christy Mathewson in 1907-08.  It was a very tight Cy Young vote, only 6 points separating 1st & 2nd, with a couple of Cardinals starters finishing in 2nd & 3rd.  Interestingly Adam Wainwright was the leader in wins with 19 & 12 first place votes, but finished 3rd, teammate Chris Carpenter was the ERA leader at 2.24 with a 17-4 record, finished 2nd, and Tim was the strikeout leader with 261 Ks, a 2.48 ERA, and a 15-7 record, was the award winner, 15 wins was the lowest win total for an award winner.

2 Responses to “2009 MLB Cy Young Award Winners: Zack Greinke & Tim Lincecum”

  1. I bet you’re happy you drafted Greinke as a rookie huh, Tedd?

    oh, that’s right you dropped him, didn’t you?


  2. I still have The Freak!

Discussion Area - Leave a Comment