NL Gold Gloves announced

The NL Gold Glove awards were announced yesterday.

Not a lot of surprises.  Maddux won his 18th award in the year he plans to retire.  Rollins, Beltran, and somehow David Wright seemed to sneak in there again.  Nate McLouth won his first Gold Glove and first Pirate to do so since 1993 when Jay Bell did so.

I admit I’m not familiar with Adrian Gonzalez’ fielding exploits at first base.  Is he REALLY all that better than NL competition at his position?  Considering who’s out there, I wonder.  Except for first base, every NL player who won the Fielding Bible Award, also won a Gold Glove.  Albert Pujols won a FBA at first this year.

Discussion Area - Leave a Comment