2009 Hall of Fame ballot announced

I was in Cooperstown the last time a left fielder was inducted to the Hall of Fame.  The fact that I was there on my honeymoon shows how often that happens since that was 20 years ago. 

Next year may another chance to welcome a left fielder to the hallowed halls.  Four #7s have their opportunity and two (and some may say three) have a good shot.  The four left fielders are Rickey Henderson, Jim Rice, Tim Raines and Ron Gant. 

It’s Rickey Henderson’s first shot on the ballot and alternatively it will be Jim Rice’s last. 

The full 2009 ballot:
• Harold Baines
• Jay Bell
• Bert Blyleven
• David Cone
• Andre Dawson
• Ron Gant
• Mark Grace
• Rickey Henderson
• Tommy John
• Don Mattingly
• Mark McGwire
• Jack Morris
• Dale Murphy
• Jesse Orosco
• Dave Parker
• Dan Plesac
• Tim Raines
• Jim Rice
• Lee Smith
• Alan Trammell
• Greg Vaughn
• Mo Vaughn
• Matt Williams

All things considered, it’s a strong, especially deep, class. 

Oh, the last left fielder inducted twenty years ago?  Carl Yastrzemski in the summer of 1989.  He was inducted along with Johnny Bench and Red Schoendienst.  I remember distinctly how red the crowd was.  I also remember the Cincinnati Reds booing A. Bart Giamatti and yelling “Free Pete Rose”. 

3 Responses to “2009 Hall of Fame ballot announced”

  1. My choices would be Rickey Henderson, Tim Raines and Jim Rice.

  2. Here are my votes…
    1) Rickey Henderson
    2) Jim Rice
    3) Mark McGwire
    4) Bert Blyleven
    5) Tommy John
    6) Jack Morris
    7) Tim Raines
    8) Alan Trammell
    9) Andre Dawson
    10) Lee Smith

  3. Rickey Henderson is a no brainer.
    I would also give Big Mac the nod, (but not fries, Tom)
    Tim Raines

    Didn’t like Henderson personally, but for my money he was the best lead off hitter since I’ve been following baseball.

Discussion Area - Leave a Comment